Spring Cleaning Stash Bash Challenge Winners Announced

We would like to thank all of you who participated in our latest Pathway to Creativity Challenge!  Below are the randomly selected winners with the artist’s short description and a photo of one of their entries.

Winner of the Wubbers Artisan’s Mark Hammer Set – Elizabeth Meyers

Elizabeth Meyers 2

“I made this bracelet using my stash of laboradites. I love them and have them in every size and shape. I made the chain with fine silver wire and the long links with sterling. I made this after seeing something similar in the Sundance catalog which is a big inspiration for me. Very elegant!”

Winner of the Wubbers Apprentice Pliers Set of Five -Linda Sullivan

Linda Sullivan 1

“I have had these lemon quartz stones for several years.  I thought they would make some pretty summer earrings.  I wrapped them in 14K gold filled wire and they hang from 14K gold filled earwires.”

Winner of Gwen Youngblood’s Riveting Essentials – Judy Larson

Judy Larson 3

“Using beads I have collected for years (We all have that problem, don’t we?), I created bracelets using three different mediums:
1.  Memory Wire: Turquoise beads that I picked up in 1972 on a trip to Arizona and Nevada.  I domed an old Indian Head       Nickel and soldered a loop on the back and slid it on between the beads.
2.  Stringing: Silver beads are spaced between faceted jasper beads.
3.  Wire Wrapping: 18 gauge square and half round silver wire were used to make a cuff style bracelet using rectangle beads I arranged in an ombre effect.  The beads are so old I forget what gemstone they are.”

Winner of the Regular and Large Looping Pliers – Marilyn K Lowe

Lowe Vintage 4

“I cut up a short length of vintage sterling chain which was purchased long ago, formed links on sterling wire using Czech glass and sterling beads, and made myself a delicate necklace and earrings.”

Posted in Uncategorized
3 comments on “Spring Cleaning Stash Bash Challenge Winners Announced
  1. Judy Larson says:

    Thank you for the incentive to use the “stash” of supplies that have been mysteriously accumulating over the years. Getting my name drawn was an unexpected bonus! Whether or not my name is drawn again makes not difference, this series of challenges is just what I needed to start clearing out and cleaning up my jewelry making supplies, etc. Now if I could just find the incentive to do that with all the other craft supplies (scrapbooking, art and sewing) I have lurking in the corners of my craft room!

  2. Elizabeth Meyers says:

    I too would like to say thanks! I make jewelry for myself and friends and family. I don’t sell my pieces. So what a nice surprise that the staff at Wubbers U liked something I made. Quite the confidence booster! Thanks again.

    Elizabeth Meyers

  3. Linda Sullivan says:

    This was a really fun idea for a contest. I went through my boxes of stuff and dug out some gemstones that were perfect for summer and put together some designs that I could wear now! Thrilled to win a prize! Very unexpected! The great thing is that I made some pieces I really liked that would not have been made without the contest focus. Thank you Wubbers for your inspiration and for rewarding us!

Leave a Reply

