Color–There’s an App for That?

And, it’s a “no-fail” system that can help double (or maybe even triple) your creative color ideas for making jewelry! Even better than that, anyone can use this app for free!

The app is called Adobe Color CC, but before I send you out to cyberspace to get it, let me tell you a little about what you can do with it and why I am so excited to share this with you.

It’s a great way to get new color inspiration

It doesn’t matter whether you are a novice or pro at making jewelry, or even if you consider yourself color-challenged. “Playing” and having fun with this app can lead you to instant color success and even break you out of being stuck in a color-rut.

But let me tell you what excites me the most about this Adobe Color CC (AC-CC).

It’s an easy way to make jewelry loaded with special meaning

Let me show you what I mean. These photos are from my personal files. The picture of my grandson is from our California vacation last summer. The other two photos are from my recent trip to Italy. newsletterI loaded my photos into AC-CC and here are some of the color schemes that I came up with based on these photos. AC-CC will automatically generate color schemes for you, and those are named Muted, Bright, Deep, Dark, and Colorful. However, it also allows you to play with your own color schemes by dragging little color circles around to different areas of the photo.

Screen Shot 2015-07-15 at 1.30.52 PMMuch to my surprise, some of the custom color schemes turned out to be my favorites!

You can see my color creations in the graphic above; they are labeled Custom. They are schemes that I might never have “seen” by simply looking at the photos with my own eyes.

Using the AC-CC method, I can easily create a piece of jewelry that will help me preserve and enjoy a special memory every time I wear it. Here is a photo of some of the “pretties” that Ginny and I pulled from my stash to go with the photo of my grandson on the beach. I don’t think I would have thought to add the peachy colors without this color tool.

On the Beach 3Jewelry with a special meaning makes the best gifts, has increased value, and ultimately generates more sales

I recently heard a Ted Talk that put forth the idea that as we age, memories are our most valued possession, and to give a memory is the best gift. I wish that I could find this talk again, because that I love that idea. Furthermore, I think age doesn’t matter when it comes to giving the gift of a special memory.

Even in times when the economy is rough, people will buy things that make life richer and bring joy-especially when it is something that will last. I have often heard artists’ laments about their competition and how hard it is to sell.  However, adding this kind of value to your jewelry can bring so much happiness to so many people while giving you a marketing advantage.

So where do you find this amazing free software?

To access this program from a computer or through the internet, visit the link below, and be sure to click on the CREATE button at the left top of the page.  To use your own photo, then click on the picture of the camera near the top right, and you are on your way!

https://color.adobe.com/create/color-wheel/

Here’s where you can see a great instructional video as well as download a free app for iPhone, iPad, or Android:

http://www.adobe.com/products/color.html 

Just a one last thing

I am not in any way affiliated with Adobe-I just wanted to share something with you that I hope helps make your jewelry-making and creating time tons more fun.

I hope you have a great weekend, and a lot of time to make jewelry!

signature

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

