May the 4th be With You!

In a galaxy not that far away…

All of the loyal Star Wars fans are aware of what day it is. We are quoting every movie line we can recall and telling each other the well known pun, “May the fourth be with you.” 

In honor of this day, I have spent the past week coming up with several jewelry pieces to commemorate it. This shut-in may have provided a little too much time to play haha. 

I couldn’t help but to start with the lovable and furry Chewbacca. 

The picture below is of my son when he was 6 years old meeting Chewbacca. The actor had to be at least 6’5″! 

Of course I had to make earrings furry and tall just like Chewbacca. They demand attention just like he does when he enters a room. It was a challenge to cut the fur without strands flying all over or clumps coming out. The Tierra Cast Crimps were perfect for holding it all together.


And how about the beepy little robot R2-D2.

R2-D2 has always been a favorite of mine. Did you know he and C-3PO are the only characters who appeared in every Star Wars film? 

R2-D2 is the inspiration for this blue and white beaded and wire wrapped bracelet. The blue beads in the center spin around reminding be of his head spinning. The white shell beads roll around my wrist as smooth as R2-D2 rolling in the sand. I always wondered how his wheels never clogged up in the sand or got stuck on rocks?

Then there is the Dark Side

What would Star Wars be without the enemy? When we went to Disney World in 2008 my 10 year old son would have waited in line all day to fight Darth Vader. 

Luckily they picked him from the crowd in the second battle round. Perhaps the Dark Side of Star Wars reminds us that good can still come from evil. The Dark Side gives us the chance to be better, to perfect our skills for good. 

I will admit the ring below tried my patience. Do you ever have that piece that you had big plans for and then it feels like it is all going wrong? Repeatedly, I had troubles with the bezels on this ring as well as with the solder. 

Eventually I just embraced the imperfections and saw the beauty that was in the ruggedness of it. Besides, the Dark Side isn’t always pretty right?

But the darkness just makes the light shine brighter!

The Jedi, they were the peacekeepers. When the galaxy was in disarray, the Jedi were the ones who defeated the darkness. The force was with them. My favorite Jedi of all is Yoda. He has so many inspiring quotes and he is just so cute!

I felt the force was with me on this pendant. The tiny Yoda silhouette was sawed from sterling sheet. The background is titanium with the colors produced from fire. The frame soldered beautifully. I might have melted 4 bezel cups before the 5th one finally set on the bail, but overall I am very pleased with the outcome.

“Do or do not. There is no try.” ~ Master Yoda

Star Wars is not everyone’s cup of tea, I completely understand that. The main takeaway is that you continue to find what inspires you and do not let the Dark Side, so to speak, tell you “that’s dumb” or “you’re not good enough.” Sometimes you just have to put yourself out there and when you do…

May the Fourth be with you!

Laura

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in jewelry making, Jewelry Tips, Sawing, Uncategorized

Leave a comment